The Golden Trail Series different formats
are here to celebrate and grow the trail running sport.
They stand out in the modern sports world by respecting unique values
like parity, equity, transparency and honesty

The Golden Trail World Series

The Golden Trail World Series exists to celebrate and evolve trail running as a sport. The series stands out in the modern sports world respecting unique values like parity, equity, transparency and honesty. The races have been chosen to highlight the most iconic events in the sport today.

It aims to promote professional trail runners as the world-class athletes that they are, to showcase and protect the awe-inspiring natural environments where we play and compete, and to acknowledge the amazing, passionate fans as an essential ingredient in the sport. Each of the six races in the series has been specifically selected for the scenery, the challenge, the history and the atmosphere that they offer to both the runners and to the public. These are the races that every runner wants to experience and some of the first written on any runner’s bucket list. Discover the races…

It combines these iconic races into a new and revolutionary concept. A clear and simple format where each runner’s best three results from the six races count. This will generate excitement for the public who follow the entire season and to ensure that elites meet each other a maximum of times during the year guaranteeing a high level at each race.

However, it is more than just a race series – it celebrates trail running, trail running athletes and the fans. Every celebration needs a party – a finale that embodies everything we stand for. Each year The Golden Trail World Series will choose a very special race for the Grand Finale. The top 11 men and women from the overall ranking after the 6th race will be invited to the Grand Finale. This guarantees an epic battle till the very last finish line.

The 2021 Golden Trail World Series Finale will be held at the ONE RACE in EL HIERRO ISLAND (Canarias) the 16th of October

More info…

The Golden Trail Championship

2020 has been a special year, which forced us to reinvent ourselves.

The Golden Trail Championship was created out of a worldwide lockdown and not being allowed to go to races around the world.

While the GTWS gathers elite athletes at 6 major competitions, to culminate at one Grand Finale, the GTC aims to gather them at one single event, a 4-day stage race.

Anyone can participate at their own expense if they obtain a race-bib, however, Golden tickets are available to win at different Golden Races (GTWS and GTNS races among others), and Golden Seg-ments (if there is no race in the country) in more than 20 countries. 

A Golden Ticket provides free transport, accommodation and meals for the entire competition week.

The top 11 from the previous year’s GTWS have a Golden Pass and therefore are automatically invited to the GTC.

At the end of the stages, an overall ranking is established, and the Golden Trail Champion is the one with the lowest cumulated time from all the stages.

The GTC also crowns the Golden Trail Climber Champion, the Golden Trail Downhiller Champion and the Golden Trail Sprinter Champion.

After a successful Championship in 2020, the GTS organization has decided to organize the GTWS and the GTC format on alternate years. The GTC year: the GTWS races will be Golden Races and will have Golden Tickets to win while the top 3 men and women of each GTNS will get a Golden Ticket. 

More info…

The Golden Trail National Series

After a successful year in 2018 for the GTWS (ex-GTS), 2019 saw the Golden Trail National Series (GTNS) appear in some countries like France-Belgium, Spain-Portugal, Italy, Czech Republic-Slovakia and Poland. 

Depending on the geography, a GTNS could be held in different countries like France and Belgium, Spain and Portugal, Czech Re-public-Slovakia and Poland, etc.

While the GTWS aims to gather together the best international ath-letes, the GTNS aims to get the best national athletes together and give them an opportunity to be invited to the GTC.

The aim of the national series is to give an opportunity to any strong athletes to take part in the most prestigious international trail running championship the following year and measure themselves against the world’s best athletes.

Each national series will highlight the countries’ best races & best athletes with a formula of 2 to 5 races + a national finale and an overall GTNS Grand Final gathering the best of each GTNS.

The year of the GTWS, the top 3 men and women of the overall GTNS Grand Final will be invited to participate in the Golden Trail Championship the following year.

The year of the Golden Trail Championship, there won’t be a GTNS Grand Final and the top 3 men and women of each GTNS after each national final will get a golden ticket for the Golden Trail Championship.